Sharing a Transect Report

Learn how to invite someone else to view your Transect Report

There are two ways that you can share reports:

  1. Share internally
  2. Share externally with magic links
  3. Automatically share all reports with all users in your company

Share Internally

Transect Reports are easy to share with anyone inside your organization. 

  1. In your report, click on the Sharing & Export > Sharing tab on the left-hand navigation column.
  2. Use the Share Internally module to find the name of your teammates you would like to share the report with. 
  3. Select the check box next to their name, then use the dropdown next to their name to add them as a Viewer, Collaborator, or Owner.
  4. You can also share the report with everyone in your company by enabling the "Share with your entire company" setting. All users default to Viewer access. When this setting is disabled, only those users whose are individually selected will retain access.

Sharing a report will, by default, also share the project.

Share Externally with Magic Links

A project owner or collaborator can share a view-only Transect Report with a non-customer using a magic link. Magic links automatically expire after 30 days.

To create and share a magic link:

  1. In your report, click on the Sharing & Export > Sharing tab on the left-hand navigation column.
  2. Find the Share Report Externally box below the internal sharing tool.
  3. Enter the email address of the person to which you want to send a magic link.
  4. Click Send Link. An email will be sent to the email address with an invitation to view the Transect Report. They will not need to create a Transect account to view the link. They will have view-only access. They will not be able to share, export to KML or PDF, or edit the report. They will not be able navigate away from the report to view any other reports.
  5. You can cancel the magic link any time by selecting Cancel Link 

Automatically Share All Reports with Your Team

Transect allows company administrators to set your company default settings to automatically share all Transect Reports with all users on your company team.  

When this setting is enabled, all current and future customer users will be automatically added as a Viewer on all projects/reports created by fellow customer users.

To change the setting (company admins only):

  1. Navigate to Manage Account from the setting menu in the top right corner of the Dashboard
  2. At the bottom of the Customer Account page, you will find Customer Project Sharing Settings.
    1. Toggle to Enabled to turn this feature on. All past and future projects will be shared with all current and future customer users.
    2. Toggle to Disabled to turn this feature off.  This may remove access to some projects for current users, depending on the sharing settings of that project. Future users will only have access the projects that they create/own, unless projects are shared with them with other company users on a project-by-project basis.
  3. Click Update Account at the bottom of the page to save your settings.